Primarily a WIndows user but still want to learn Linux

As the title states, I am primarily a Windows user but for practical reasons I want to learn Linux (as well as FreeBSD but that’s mostly outside of the scope of this website).

Here’s how I got here.

I’ve been using Linux on the desktop off and on since 2008. I was also a Mac user for a few years. I was drawn to macOS (still called OS X at the time) because it’s a Unix-like OS that’s also designed to be a desktop OS that supported things (like Microsoft Office) that allowed me to also dump Windows for good, at least until 2017 when I got interested in PC gaming and bought a relatively cheap Dell Inspiron gaming laptop with a mobile Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti. Also in 2017 I got serious about pursuing a career in IT. From mid-2018 to mid-2019 I took an in-person IT class, after which I got my CompTIA A+ certification. In terms of operating systems, 95% of everything I learned pertained to Windows, and the rest mostly pertained to iOS and Android. Linux and macOS had few mentions, with the BSDs and proprietary Unixes only being mentioned when the history of the internet was discussed and when one of my teachers mentioned having used Solaris and HP-UX workstations in the Navy.

Fast forward to mid-2020. I wasn’t working and everything was shut down due to Covid.