Network drive question

Hello, I’ve recently setup a homelab using an old desktop pc, and decided to install proxmox on it and then TrueNAS scale VM for Network drive for storage and to use jellyfin for personal movies and tv shows. Couldn’t get jellyfin to work inside TrueNas scale so tried TrueNas core didn’t boot up at all after creating the VM (the install of core went fine no issues till reboot, then it hung and wouldn’t load) . Long story shorter. switched back to Scale added in Ubuntu server for jellyfin and seems to work. however now have an issue connecting a network drive for Ubuntu to see from the Truenas VM running. It is an SMB drive due to others using windows in the home (and yes I have checked to make sure the storage drive is working and accessible. On multiple machines.).

I am completely out of my depth with the command line as I am really new to linux and have been trying to find all the information I can on every topic I can find. Perhaps I am biting off more than I can chew in regards to learning how to network and do a home lab / server. I am learning lots and hope to find all the information and help to successfully get my homelab working amazingly and even accessible outside of my home network in the future. ( after many updates and security upgrades. )

Thanks hope I haven’t rambled too much.

Also any tips on firewalls and routers / switches (cheap cough cough) would be amazing also. Thanks again for any insight.

Welcome to the forum!

Congratz on your homelab. But can you please explain what exactly are you setting up. because I didn’t understand. Are you running TrueNAS Core as a VM in proxmox? And Jellyfin inside TrueNAS