What's the security level of desktop Linux?

I’m still new to Linux, so sorry if my question is naive. Started looking into Linux in October 2021, installed Pop!_OS in February, and switched to Fedora this month. My interest in Linux is based on the cool factor and me increasing my awareness of security and privacy.

Most folks in the Linux community probably know all the benefits and reasons why Linux should be secure, which is why I was surprised when I kept bumping into a minority of users who argued that Linux was actually not secure. This has culminated in the below blog post which is the most detailed rebuttal that I’ve read so far.

Linux | Madaidan’s Insecurities

First, I’m not very technical yet, so a lot of these things go over my head. Second, I imagine that at end the end of the day the cons presented here and in other places fall in the category of “everything has pros and cons and you have to make decisions based on your threat model.” Third, I figure there are more secure versions of Linux than what I’m using (Fedora 35), but those are either custom configurations that I would have to make which go over my head at the moment or straight up server software (I assume RHEL is more secure than Fedora, for example).

To come back down to earth, my questions are the following.

1. Is Linux secure enough for the average Joe? (I assume yes)

2. Does Linux have comparable security to Windows after you take into account the strengths and weaknesses of each?

3. Besides basic security practices like using a password manager, is there more that I should be configuring on my Linux desktop out of the box?

This is a Linux forum so I expect everyone to say that it is secure, but if I asked this on Reddit I would probably not have a fun time. Still planning on daily driving Linux for now. Please let me know where I can clarify!

A Linux desktop is not nearly as secure as a server that doesn’t run Xorg.

Yes.