Vagrant replacements for local development?

Hello,

as the title suggests I’m looking for alternatives to Vagrant for local development and testing. I mostly use it to spin up a few VMs and try out things like Docker, Ansible, test run a little script, try a new distro and things like that.

I have no super huge complaints about Vagrant as it has worked pretty well for me, except that lately it has been misbehaving and leaving unreachable VMs behind that are hard to clean up. I’m not entirely sure if it’s an issue with Virtualbox to be honest, but I think it’s time for a change and learn something new.

The thing is I’m pretty new to this whole realm of virtualization so I know nothing about KVM, QEMU, etc… however LXC and LXD have caught my attention and I’m very curious about them. I’d like to know your thoughts on this. I’m mostly interested in being able to run a VM to play with and if I can learn something useful on the way all the better. I feel like I know just enough about Vagrant to get by, but I don’t see this information being extremely useful.

Also worth noting that I’m running Ubuntu and I mostly use Ubuntu and sometimes CentOS inside my VMs.

Thanks a lot!

I’m not familiar about Vagrant, I just know it’s a tool that makes creating VMs and containers easy.

In all honesty, if you are using Linux already, just install Virt-Manager. Look for how-to’s online. This should help you with VMs. If you use Windows, idk, try Hyper-V if you have a Pro version, or get VirtualBox (eeww).

As for LXD, it’s my favorite container platform. There is no GUI for it though, but it is pretty easy to use. Just:

lxc launch images:centos/7 container-name-number-1
lxc exec container-name-number-1 -- /bin/bash

And you are inside a shell in your centos 7 LXD container. I haven’t use the LXC tools (lxc- the ones with the dash after c), but LXD (lxc without dash) makes it really easy to launch images.