Qubes OS for security geeks

Hi everybody

I have been enjoying Jay’s videos very much. It helped me a lot. I love Linux and I appreciate Jay’s efforts to make Linux accessible and understandable.

While looking for a security-oriented Distro, I came across Qubes OS.
I managed to install it and try it. However, I am not very good at networking. It would be great to have some tutorials on how to technically make various qubes with various functions (for example, only for emails, for a cloud service or for other isolated functions).
The Qubes OS documentation explains most of the available functions. But setting up various qubes is pretty complicated for an average Linux user.

This blogpost explains a possible workflow. However, it is missing the technical steps to get it working on Qubes os.

If @jay and others are interested in the topic, it might be on one side a “security” and on the other side “Linux Distro” topic at the same time.

And thank you for the great community. I am glad to be part of it :slight_smile:

1 Like

A very interesting idea. I read the intro and was curious about why it is implemented as VM’s instead of containers. Personally, I think containers would be a better, more modern approach, and much more efficient use of resources.

Qubes is more like a hypervisor, than a desktop OS, just that all the VMs are using desktop windows to control the VNC session, unlike something like Proxmox, where you use a web browser / noVNC. So you have to think in terms of, basically, VMs. You have 1 VM for banking, one for this forum and a few chat programs, one for random internet browsing that you don’t want associated with your normal logged in accounts etc. I’m not sure if you really need networking skills for Qubes, but I never used it myself, so I can’t say, but you shouldn’t need much, if any IMO.