Nextcloud building

Hi all,

I am writing because I downloaded the Windows Nextcloud desktop git source code.

I changed some stuff (essentially icons, images) and just do not understand how to build/compile this code into a Windows executable (.exe or msi) so that a friend could install and test it on a Windows PC.

I have already tried a lot of things and nothing works for me since I am not a pro (like installing VS code extensions (C++, cmake…), Visual Studio 2019 with Cmake, Zlib, Onessl…)

It really is driving me crazy since I cannot find a suitable tutorial/video to achieve this.

The Nextcloud client building readme is absolutely not clear for me since I am an Amateur.

Does anybody know how to do it really the easy way?

Thanks.

Assuming you are referring to the Client:

Note: I’ve cross-compiled many CMake projects on Windows, but, Nextcloud isn’t one of them, so, take this for what it’s worth.

This is a big subject, especially on Windows as you’ll need to install and configure an MinGW tool-chain. Many now days are using the MSYS2 collection, but there’s other ways. You will also need CMake, either in your path natively, or from within the MinGW / MSYS2 environment itself.

This should get you going: Nexcloud Client - Windows Development Build

EDIT - After reading a bit more of the “General Build Insttructions”, I’m just gonna say, this is not an easy build. If you are unfamiliar with cross-compiling on Windows (or compiling big projects in general), expect a fair bit of frustration. I did a quick search but didn’t find many “Step-By-Step” MinGW how-too’s. There’s plenty around for *Nix, just not many on the Windows cross side.

EDIT-2: If you’re dead-set on running / building it on Windows, I’d try getting it built in WSL2 or a Linux VM first (VirtualBox, VMWare, etc). After you get a few iterations done there, then move over to MinGW cross compiling so you know what to expect.

Hi thanks for your answer.