Need Procedure for Host Server Booting from ZFS and Hosting with KVM

I just got my new book “Mastering Ubuntu Server, 3rd Edition”, and now I’m getting ready to set up a new server. My background is with Microsoft Servers. My old host server is based on Hyper-V and, of course, NTFS.

I love everything I’m seeing about the ZFS file system. It seems clear that ZFS has a bright future, and rather than convert to it in the future, I hope to start out with it, including booting from it. I most want it’s redundancy, reliabiltiy, and recoverability.

After much research, I haven’t found a procedure that makes sense to me for installing Ubuntu Server to boot from ZFS 2.x. It seems such a procedure would require building a bootable USB drive with ZFS drivers. The disk interfaces are hosted on the motherboard directly, and not via a RAID controller.

My goal is to build a host server, that boots from ZFS raidz 3, and runs KVM to support my virtual machines. Here is my hardware:

CPU: AMD EPYC Rome 7262, 8 core
Motherboard: SuperMicro MBD-H12SSL-NTO
RAM: Nemix 8x16GB (128GB) DDR4-3200 ECC
HD: 6 x 4TB WD40EFZX Red Plus
NVMe: Corsair MP600 Pro 1TB M.2 Gen4 PCIe x4

Your advice and directions are most welcome.

My recommendation would be to use Proxmox. I’m not overly versed in XCP-ng, so I can’t comment there but @Jay and Tom Lawerence talk about it a good bit.

@Jay has a series on installing Proxmox already, and I’ve heard there is an updated version coming at some point - Setting up your own virtualization server with Proxmox Virtual Environment

If you’re going to virtualize something like TrueNAS, you’ll want to pass through your HBA (if you have one, e.g. amd_iommu=on in the grub config). If you don’t have an HBA, I’d recommend you get one rather than using the onboard SATA ports. ZFS likes to work at the device level (directly at the disk), and that’s where HBA’s shine.