LPIC-1 Studies, tips and materials

Guys, any advices about LPIC-1 studies? Any good books, video courses in mind? The point is I had had a book for LPIC-1 prep (from that Brazilian guy) and after a month of studies failed my practice test with aprox. 50% I was doing my studies like 2 hours every day after work and this is the point i came to. Sad. Maybe this is because I am 35 and my memory isn’t good enough or so. I don’t know why but fell like really upset. Looks like LPIC is all about pure theory, and all you need to do is just memorize all this commands and parameters and filenames and dirs. Thus I will never pass it, because my brain doesn’t work this way. Meanwhile i am not a completely beginner in Linux world. I’ve accomplished several project including configuring, testing and putting into production environment a web-server, mail-server and a RAS on Guacamole. I was very comfortable using a completely different types of books in my Linux studies. Those are oriented towards practice and real-life scenarios, and it was funny and interesting to go through. Now i feel desperate. Should i consider LFCSA as the exam is pure practice-based and contain no theory at all? Please help.

I think you should go for Linux+ in place of LPIC-1, assuming that still gives you LPIC-1. Last I checked (which was a while ago) obtaining the Linux+ cert also gives you LPIC-1, so if that’s still true, there’s almost no reason to specifically go after LPIC-1. Either way, the questions are essentially the same in both.

I think you can get LPIC-1. I have intense ADHD which adversely impacts my ability to learn and retain knowledge. It takes me much longer to learn something than a neurotical person would. I took the Linux+ exams (essentially the same as LPIC-1) many years back and passed it, though even with my experience I found it surprisingly difficult.