Introduce yourself!

Hey there everyone!

I noticed this forum doesn’t have an introductions topic yet. Since I felt like introducing myself I thought, why not create one for everyone to introduce themselves?

So here you go! Feel free to introduce yourself here: Who are you? Where you are from? What do you do for a living or hobbies? What brought you here? Etc. etc.!

I’ll start of myself:

My name is Jasper de Laat, 27 years young and from the Netherlands :netherlands:. I am actually a software developer (specifically, video games). I’ve recently gone my own way as a game developer, using my savings to kickstart my first game project and registered my own business ‘Green Forest Games’. Other hobbies are tinkering with IT hardware and getting my hands dirty doing my own car maintenance!

While I always had interest in both Linux and IT, I always struggled with the reality of getting started. Through the magic of Youtube’s algorithm, I eventually came across Jay’s channel (well actually I’ve been following Tom Lawrence’s channel, so there’s the link) and I’ve been enjoying every video since. Jay, if you’re reading this, your elaborate and calm explanation of various topics is the perfect match for me to actually get started learning Linux and IT. Similarily, I’ve bought your book Mastering Ubuntu Server and I’m really enjoying it so far.

Anyway, the reason I came here is to get more proficient with Linux as a user & server administrator. My goal is to eventually build an amazing multi-role server for my business. I will probably elaborate on this in the Homelab category later, but think source control, CI/CD and general purpose applications like mail and webserver. Furthermore, I hope to eventually consider moving from a Windows desktop environment to a Linux environment, just for the educational experience (also because my toolchain appears to be cross-platform compatible).

That’s it from me, I wish you all a nice day!
Jasper