Installing Stuff On Linux

I have been using Linux for about 6 or 7 months. I have fully migrated all of my systems to Linux. A roadblock for me has been the difficulty of installing software on Linux. For example, today I decided that I wanted to learn some Java and I went to the oracle website to install a JDK. To test my mettle I decided to only use the official documentation on the oracle website and I hit this ‘roadblock’. Below is where I got stuck

To install the 64-bit JDK Debian package on a Linux platform:

Download the required file:
jdk-21.interim.update.patch_linux-x64_bin.deb. For example jdk-21_linux-x64_bin.deb

Before you download a file, you must accept the license agreement. Anyone (not only root users) can install the archive file in any location having write access.

after looking at this for about 5 or 10 minutes I decided that I was not going to be able to figure this out without the help of a well put together webpage that walks you through the steps. What I was missing was knowledge that I needed to use the curl or wget command. Below is the command.

wget https://download.oracle.com/java/21/latest/jdk-21_linux-x64_bin.deb

If somebody would be willing to look at the documentation, and tell me if the documentation is just bad, or if I am just bad and I should know that I need to use the curl or wget command and type https://download.oracle.com/java/21/latest/
prior to the file that they specify needs to be downloaded.

A couple times I have tried to click on the button that installs the *.tar.gz files and I never know what to do with them. I extract the files but I am then left with a lot a files that I don’t know what to do with them and whether or not I should make them an executable and try to run them.