Installing Linux on an iMac

Hi,

Newbie here. I have been watching Jay’s videos for quite some time, though not regularly. I used to watch Joe Collin’s videos where he mentioned about Jay’s expertise and that is how I got introduced to LearnLinux.TV YT channel.

I have an old 2011 iMac which is what I am using as a daily driver, though it does not have Mac OS in it. It used to have High Sierra, but I erased it once accidentally and never looked back. I prefer to run rolling release linux distros. I tried Manjaro for some time, but updates started breaking things and then I tried Solus OS. It booted fine, but I was not able to install it. The installed failed with an error message saying “Error #: 51” or something like that. I tried multiple times and it never worked fine. I tried PCLinuxOS. It worked fine and updates were fine. However, I was having other issues like wifi printer disconnects, insync installation issue, no signup option for their forums, no support etc. I am currently running Sparky Linux and it is running fine.

Apart from rolling release distros, I prefer couple of specific release based distros. Some of them are Mageia and Salix. I am not able to boot Salix ISO from USB. Not only Salix, iMac doesn’t seem to support several linux distros to boot from USB. I was having issues with Ubuntu mate, Linux Mint, Xubuntu etc. I have tried several methods to create the bootable USB, including the dd command, unetbootin, rufus from windows, etcher etc.

Is there a reliable way of booting any linux distro on an iMac?

Thanks,
Balaji.

I haven’t tried installing Linux on that device, but Macs have been problematic every time I try them. Some seem to work, and others not so much. It’s very inconsistent. I’m not sure if it will help, but here are some things to potentially consider.