Inside / outside homelab DNS setup, too fancy?

Hi all!

I’m a web developer new to homelab. I’ve gotten into homelab stuff and made a ton of progress this month. (see disclosure triangles below) A lot of this was thanks to videos from Jay and LLTV.

Lab progress thus far

Lab progress thus far

• Set up OpwnWRT on my existing router
  • Put switches at center of local network
  • Added a NAS with its own reverse-proxy and wildcard letsencrypt via the DNS api
  • Added a UPS and NUT server on the NAS for the NAS and PiHole (How cool is NUT!?!)
  • Discontinued all DDNS and port-forwarding into my home
  • Added Tailscale to every host
  • Configured wifi SSIDs for home, guest, and IOT with their own DHCP address blocks and routing rules to block IOT from the web and segment guests and IOT from the lan
  • Configured all DNS traffic at home going through PiHole via OpwnWRT firewall, even if a host tries to use 1.1.1.1
My network setup

My network setup

OpenWRT router runs DHCP and DNS server
OpenWRT router has PiHole as an upstream DNS server
OpenWRT passes its own DNS server out via DHCP
PiHole listens on all interfaces (that means via Tailscale interface too)

How I can help others

How I can help others

• web setup
  • ssh configs, remote access, portforwards
  • vim setup for remote editing
  • reverse proxies with nginx, traefic etc.
  • lets-encrypt and certificates

Now I’m looking for a final piece of setup that’s at the edge of my abilities.

My current challenge

I’d like to move from swapping DNS servers manually and editing hosts files to using DNS to solve roaming outside my home LAN while preserving domain names and TLS certificates.