Homelab Proposal

I have some technical background, but fall somewhere between novice and intermediate. I would like to make a proposal for a homelab setup and get some feedback.

I have the following hardware available to me:

• Various iOS devices for mobile
  • 2017 13" Macbook Pro (Wife’s laptop)
  • Arris cable modem 300Mbps (available 400Mbps nominal via Xfinity, no plan to upgrade)
  • TP-Link Archer C2300 Wi-Fi router
  • Mac mini (late 2014) 2.6GHz Core i5, 8GB RAM, user upgrade to 256 GB SSD.
  • Dell Inspiron 5558 laptop 4th Gen Core i3-4030U Processor (up to 1.90 GHz), 8GB RAM, dual boot Win 10 Home/Pop!_OS 20.04
  • Toshiba Satellite C655 Celeron 900 single core 2.2 GHz, 4GB, Windows 7
  • Raspberry Pi Zero W running Pi-hole (DNS & DHCP) connected via ethernet
  • Raspberry Pi Zero W unused
  • Raspberry Pi 3 B+ unused
  • Samsung Tab S6 Lite (ordered…will take over the function of YouTube player from Mac mini)
  • ThinkPad T14 Gen 1 T14 Ryzen 7 4750U, 16GB, 512 PCI-NVMe SSD (ordered)

My thought process:
Mac mini: install Ubuntu Server 20.04, openmediavault, nextcloud (DropBox is full, and I am tired of it). I would attached four mixed size/speed USB drives as storage, but it will have to be JOBD or equivalent I assume. This would serve as cloud storage (will have to learn how to secure it for outside access), media serving via Plex or other, and general NAS. I would back this up to Backblaze as I do not have the option to create a RAID with my mixed size/speed drives as I currently understand it…not that I would not still back it up, but the backup will be my only redundancy. I will not have a solution for bit rot protection at this time.

I would like to create a second Pi-hole with the other Pi Zero for redundancy.

If possible, perhaps I could use one of the laptops as a firewall? Pfsense? That would all be new to me. At that point I could turn over DHCP to the laptop and use the Pi-hole as DNS sink hole only.