Help with TrueNAS Replication mistake

As the title suggests I have made a (probably critical) mistake.

I am pretty new to TrueNAS, I set up a TrueNAS server a while back and did the minimum needed to get it working and dump data onto it as I desperately needed the space.

I recently built a new server with new drives and did a better job, but not much better as I am learning as I am doing and after some reading / video watching, I decided to do a “replication” with the final load of data on Server A into a Dataset on Server B with existing data in it thinking that it will replicate the data in Server A and merge it with the data in the dataset in Server B much as it would via copy/paste in Windows.

Now what has happened is that I have NO data in the Dataset on Server B.

Ignoring for a moment why there is no data from server A in this Dataset on Server B, that is irrelevant as it is still on Server A.

What is important is whether I can get back the data that was just minutes ago in the Dataset on Server B.

Many thanks.

Addendum, I am not so new at this as to keep on writing data to Server B and I have turned off the “auto” on the replication task so as to not make the situation worse and otherwise touched nothing.

Not sure what happened here, but is the dataset on server B still there? How about the ZFS pool? If yes, then did you have a snapshot before copying stuff over? If not, then your pool’s toast.

I suppose you did some kind of zfs-send of the 1st dataset to the dataset on server B, without knowing that this replaces the data (you could have just sent the data to a non-existing dataset on server B and it would have been created there). ZFS is a file system, not a file manager. Also, replication means copying data from source A and sending to target B and deleting anything mismatching or absent from source A that is present in target B.