Help: Lubuntu doesn't recognize Zoran based capture card

I have a Zoran based capture card that does mjpeg that I use for coverting old vhs tapes… trying to move to linux but I’m a newbie. Can’t see to get linux to recognize the card and use it to capture into something like VLC or kdenlive.

1. lspci | grep Zoran
    06:09.0 Multimedia video controller: Zoran Corporation ZR36057PQC Video cutting chipset (rev 01)

2. sudo dmidecode -t 2

dmidecode 3.2

Getting SMBIOS data from sysfs.
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 8 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Version:
Serial Number:

Is there support for AMD 790FX chipset?

1. Kernel.org section 35.2.1. Iomega Buz

unified zoran driver (zr360x7, zoran, buz, dc10(+), dc30(+), lml33)

I think this should cover my card

1. Tried steps outlined here
    35. The Zoran driver — The Linux Kernel documentation

Looking for the Zoran Conf file but it’s not there

1. Load zr36067.o.
    How do I do that?

2. run ‘v4l-conf -c ’
    what do I use for the device? Is it some part of what I found in lspci? The numeric portion (is that an ID?)

Have you tried it as a capture source in OBS? That’s my go-to for capture devices.

I did… I also tried VLC, Kdenlive and Qt v4l test tool. On another forum they said the driver was deprecated and removed from the kernel since lubuntu 18.04… but the docs didn’t seem to be updated. So I guess I’ll have to try that and see if it works. I guess I’ll need to multiboot with one entry for 18.04?

What about PCI-passthrough into a dedicated VM running on your host? Don’t get me wrong - that may be a terrible idea on my part, as virtual machines often have higher overhead. But if that was crazy enough to work, that would be pretty awesome because you could snapshot and easily back up that VM so that way you’d have something repeatable and predictable.