Expanding my homelab (student)

I’m a self-funded student reading for MSc in Cybersecurity and trying to expand on my home lab for cybersecurity and machine learning. The primary use of the lab is to simulate cyberattacks and carry out machine learning tasks to algorithmics.

This lab is built using monthly savings, and hence you’d see some decision mistakes, such as taking a 2 bay NAS as opposed to a 4 bay or more. I am not sure if buying an expandable NAS to add a 5 bay add-on was a good decision or not - but I am open to honest feedback to help me make a better decision in the future.

For all the answers, please keep in mind I am from India and getting suitable second-hand hardware or even stuff from eBay is usually a scam.

Here is what I have:
Dell Precision 3440 SFF:

1. Intel Xeon 1290
  2. 128 GB DDR non-ECC RAM
  3. 2 x 1 TB SSD (1 - 2.5’ and 1 M.2)
  4. 1 x 2TB 2.5’ SSD.
  5. 2 x 1 Gbps LAN ports (currently in load balancer mode)
  6. OS: VMWare ESXi 7.0 Update 1c
    7 GPU: None

Synology 718+ 2 Bay NAS

1. 6 TB (2x6 TB - 7,200 RPM)
  2. RAID - 1
  3. 2 x 1 Gbps LAN ports (currently in bond mode)
  • 6 Raspberry Pis (from Model 2B to 4B). All of these are using Wi-Fi to connect to the network)

• I have 4 Noctua Fans to help with cooling as I do not have a cabinet/rack.

I am looking for advice to upgrade/change/use my home lab and need communities inputs for the following:

Networking:
I want to improve my networking, especially security capabilities. At the bare minimum, I need VLAN segregation and layer 3 routing capabilities. The Wi-Fi router I have does not even allow for DHCP forwarding, and I am stuck with its limited capabilities.

I have:
Netgear R7000 router:

• 1 x WAN port
  • 4 x 1 Gbps LAN ports - utilised by Synology (2) and Dell Precision (2)

So my questions are:

Compute:

1. My wife is entering the world of data science and machine learning. We both share a single personal laptop & we have decided that we both need a laptop.