Designing a Server System for a School

I’m new to linux; coming from a Mac and Windows background, and I’d like to design an entire school network server that can handle serving 2500 simultaneous student connections as well as 100 administration connections.

I’ve looked at both DebianEdu 11.5 and LinuxSchools 14 (ubuntu based).

Though both distributions could be perfect solutions, their GUI’S; (debian with gosa2, and linuxschools with its own web based console), both are dated and would not inspire staff and students alike.

Would you be able to point me in the right direction for such an effort? My goal is to create an ‘out-of-the-box’ solution for public school systems in my region. The schools would require that only ‘one’ linux operating system be used by students, requiring the client machines to be able to run securely from various systems. i.e., windows, macs, ipads, tablets, watches, etc…

What are you trying to serve? I’m not familiar with gosa or linuxschools, are these educational servers?

If security is the concern, then I have bad news for you. I admire your efforts, but unless you run more than just one Linux box and have an admin to maintain it (or enable some automatic updates, which make the system prone to breaking when needed the most), you are not adding security, because this linux box will be the one thing neglected by the IT staff that don’t know how to update linux.

Having more than just one linux box and having at least a part-time admin managing it would come a long way though.

As for the 2500 simultaneous connections, with a dedicated server you may need a beefy spec. Assuming it is just apache and php, probably a high frequency 6 or 8 core server with 64GB of RAM. If traffic can be cached, you could only get away with less if you add reverse-proxies in-between and load-balance and cache pages and content, but this is not usual in a small school environment.

I’m a little confused about what you actually need.