Bash wrong output when using exit code

Hello everyone my name is ShintY and im fairly new to linux.

Recently i was trying to learn bash scripting with the help of learn linux tv tutorial. In the episode 6 i made a script almost same as the one shown in the tutorial and it worked for installing a package but when i wanted to see the results for non-existing package i got undesired results as you can see in the pic below.

Even though the exit code is 100, the output being typed is for exit code 0. Is this because the exit code contains 0 in the number 100? or is there some error in my code. Its not a very big deal but will be helpful for me to know what mistake i made.

Thank You

Welcome to the forum!

This looks like a wrong logic. Try using operators && and ||. And learn to put all variables in between curly brackets, you’ll thank me later.

sudo apt install -y ${pkg} >> pkg_installation.log && \
echo code $? && \
echo "${pkg} installed successfully, can be found at $(which ${pkg})" ||\
echo  "${pkr} installation failed"

I don’t like to edit, but had to fix a double quote missing in the code.

Thank you for your response.

From what i can see i should have used && (and) command after the sudo apt install line and included the $? in the same line.

from the code you have made i can see that you haven’t even used if statements which makes the script much smaller.

I will keep in mind of what you have said and try again.

The $? operator just gives you the exit code of the previous command (and thus only works once, immediately after it).

The thing is, if you run an “echo $?” then you will have a new “$?” when you run the if statement. Because “echo” has exited 0.

If you just comment the “echo” line, or if you save the “$?” in a variable, the script will work. Something like, immediately after sudo apt install line, aptexitcode=$?. Then you use echo code: ${aptexitcode} and if [ ${aptexitcode} -eq 0 ].