Accessing Storage Drives - Possible Configuration Issue

Hi,

I’m pretty new to all this and have installed proxmox on an old laptop. The laptop has two drives - 250Gb ssd and a 1Tb HDD. What I would like to do is have MariaDB on the HDD, and then I plan to write and deploy an app on the ssd drive that will populate the database, and also run analysis on the data.

So far I’ve installed proxmox on the 250Gb SSD and have started a VM running Ubuntu Server with ample space left for the app. I’ve also mounted the hdd as LVM and am able to see the drive through the node shell pve1.

Now I’m a bit stuck I’m not sure what path I would need to use to get the app to write to the database given that I cant see a clear path (I guess I was expecting a filepath or something similar). Would i need to put another VM on the HDD and connect through sockets or should it be accessible directly from the ssd drive.

Just to add, you can probably tell I’m massively new to all this so I’m also open to the idea that my configuration is completely wrong and needs rebuilding. Also, apologies if this question is a little jumbled and unclear and if there’s any further clarification I can give please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forum!

Under Datacenter → Storage → Add → Directory.

If you have a cluster, this would add it to all your servers, but since you are only running it on a laptop, you’ll only have one server there. Speaking of which, I hope your program is not important, or that you take plenty of backups, because you have no redundancy. I would attach a USB HDD and back up your VM and dump your DB on it. You could also make a cheap NAS with a RockPro64 or pony up some more for an Odroid H3, which will be able to serve more than 1 host (I’ve had a bunch of HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8, probably around 5, serving about 12 proxmox hosts - not my proudest infrastructure, but at least I wasn’t the one who had the bright idea to use non-rackable, but stackable servers).