A pitch for Jay to do an OpenVPN tutorial

I’ve watched many, many of Jay’s tutorials, and I believe that he’s a gifted teacher. I’m new to Linux (and am more of a hobbyist than a professional). As such, I like getting into the details of many of these services, so that I understand everything from the ground up, and Jay is one of the best at doing that.

I was especially fond of Jay’s ninety minute deep dive into OpenSSH.

I noticed something when I was watching Jay’s tutorial on setting up a NextCloud server on Linode. While he could have just clicked the premade NextCloud instance in the MarketPlace, he mentioned that he likes setting something up from scratch instead of relying on a “one click” solution, because it really helps him understand what was going on. That perfectly aligns with my thinking.

With that said, the one video that I can’t seem to find out there is a tutorial on setting up an OpenVPN server “from scratch” on Linode (or on a local Linux laptop, for that matter). I’ve watched many of the YouTube OpenVPN server tutorials out there, and they seem to be in 1 of 2 categories: Ones that show setting up a one click instance in the Linode Marketplace and then customizing a bit, and ones that “install from scratch”, but simply rely on downloading and running a bunch of install scripts that someone else has created and then uploaded to GitHub. Now there’s nothing wrong with either of these approaches, but I think that if I truly started from scratch, I’d be better off when something went wrong with the installation. I’d simply know more, and that’s always better for me.