A Gamedev's Homelab

Hey all!

As I mentioned before in my introduction, I’m in the process of setting up a homelab server for both personal and business purposes as I am an independent game developer. I still consider myself a novice in the world of Linux and system administration, but in all honesty I consider it the beginning of a wonderful journey.

I’d like to start of this topic with an introduction to what I currently have in terms of hardware, my current plans and a few questions on what would be the right way of doing things!

Let’s start with the hardware:

• Router: Unifi USG (used). Not the best platform, but it’s a start!
  • Network: Unifi switches & APs. Unlike their routers, these are very solid.
  • Workstation: Ryzen 5 2600, 32GB, 1080Ti, Windows 10
  • Spare PC/Server: Ryzen 5 1400, 8GB, Ubuntu Server 20.04.2 LTS
  • VPS: 1 basic cloud Ubuntu VPS for backup storage.

My first experience with Ubuntu was the VPS above, initially it was used as a source control server running Helix Core (previously Perforce). However, for most of the time, I had no idea what I was doing which did lead to occasionally accidentally wiping the source control server which was a bit of a nightmare. About half a year ago I repurposed my spare PC as a local server, installed Ubuntu and Helix Core, and migrated the source control server to my local PC which lead to a big improvement in file transfer. The VPS remains as a backup storage. At the same time, I’ve also installed the Unifi Controller on my spare PC server.

My plans:
One of my first goals is to convert my current spare PC/server setup running source control and Unifi controller into a virtualization server. My goal here is to segregate the Unifi controller and source control server into their own container or VM to improve migration/deployment flexibility and introduce a snapshot system for recovery, should things go wrong.